Language Arts Standards

The purpose for language arts standards is to ensure that all students develop the language skills they need to lead productive and fulfilling lives. Standards define the knowledge, concepts and skills that students should be taught at every grade level. Ideally, these standards should be challenging so that students are encouraged to attain a high level of achievement.

The Writing Road to Reading is a total language arts program that includes instruction in spelling, writing, and reading. It integrates content, principles, and procedures that empower teachers and parents to be successful decision makers, equipping them with the ability to help all students learn to read and write. 

Scope and Sequence

WRTR Program Objectives

The Spalding Scope and Sequence is divided into grade-level spelling, writing, and reading instructional objectives that are introduced, practiced, and in some cases, mastered. Spalding defines an instructional objective as a clear statement of what students should know and/or be able to do at the completion of a learning task.

Every instructional objective has two parts: the content to be learned and the observable and measurable behavior that demonstrates performance.

Coding Schema

The following codes are used throughout the scope and sequence to indicate the instructional level to which grade-level skills should be taught and assessed:

I/P: Introduce and Practice, but mastery (automaticity) by a majority of students is not expected.

P: Practice to achieve mastery (automaticity).

M: Mastery means accurate and automatic recall of grade-appropriate content and application of grade-appropriate skills by 80% of students 80% of the time.

R: Review to reinforce 1) previously introduced content; and 2) application of skills to new, grade-appropriate content.

C: Challenge for students who have achieved mastery of grade-level content and skills.

Grade Level Scope and sequences

Kindergarten through Sixth Grade (Click HERE to download)

Teacher Guide Correlations

Common Core Standards

TG First/Second Editions (click to download)

TG Third Editions (click to download)

College and Career Ready Standards

TG First/Second Editions (click to download)

TG Third Editions (click to download)


TG Third Editions (click to download)


TG Third Editions (click to download)


TG Third Editions K-2, 3-6 is coming soon. (click to download)